Early Voting Date Ranges in Your State

Want to Vote Early in the Midterm Primary Elections? Check your State's Early Voting Dates.

The following chart displays options to vote early or in-person absentee for the 2022 primary season.

For detailed dates and deadlines by election, by state, please see our Election Dates and Deadlines page.

For Early Voting location listings, check the State Voting Requirements / State Lookup Tools section for your state.

Some states do not have tools available for voters to look up Early Voting locations, nor even location listings for the whole state.  If your state does not have an Early Voting Locations entry on our State Lookup Tools, you can instead contact your Local Election Office for more details.

 

State Early Voting In-Person Absentee Start Date End Date Election Date
Alabama         Tue May 24, 2022
Alaska   X Mon Aug 1, 2022 Tue Aug 16, 2022 Tue Aug 16, 2022
Arizona X   Wed July 6, 2022 Tue Aug 02, 2022 Tue Aug 02, 2022
California X   (1) (1) Tue June 7, 2022
Colorado (2) X X IPA: May 27, 2022, EV: June 20, 2022 Tue June 28, 2022 Tue June 28, 2022
Connecticut   X Tue July 19, 2022 Mon Aug 08, 2022 Tue Aug 09, 2022
Delaware X   TBA TBA Tue Sept 13, 2022
District of Columbia X   Thu June 09, 2022 Mon Jun 20, 2022 Tue June 21, 2022
Florida X   Sat Aug 13, 2022 Sat Aug 20, 2022 Tue Aug 23, 2022
Georgia X   Mon May 02, 2022 Fri May 20, 2022 Tue May 24, 2022
Guam X   Thu July 28, 2022 Fri Aug 19, 2022 Sat Aug 27, 2022
Hawaii (2) X   Mon Aug 01, 2022 Fri Aug 12, 2022 Sat Aug 23, 2022
Idaho X   Mon May 02, 2022 Fri May 13, 2022 (1) Tue May 17, 2022
Illinois X   Mon June 13, 2022 Mon June 27, 2022 Tue June 28, 2022
Indiana   X Tue April 05, 2022 Mon May 02, 2022 Tue May 03, 2022
Iowa   X Wed May 18, 2022 Mon June 06, 2022 Tue June 07, 2022
Kansas X   Thu July 14, 2022 Mon Aug 01, 2022 Tue Aug 02, 2022
Kentucky   X Thu May 12, 2022 Sat May 14, 2022 (1) Tue May 17, 2022
Louisiana X   Tue Oct 25, 2022 Tue Nov 01, 2022 Tue Nov 08, 2022
Maine X   (1) (1) Tue June 14, 2022
Maryland X   Thu July 07, 2022 Thu July 14, 2022 Tue July 19, 2022
Massachusetts X   Fri Aug 26, 2022 Fri Sept 02, 2022 Tue Sept 06, 2022
Michigan   X Thu June 23, 2022 Mon Aug 01, 2022 Tue Aug 02, 2022
Minnesota   X Fri June 24, 2022 Mon Aug 08, 2022 Tue Aug 09, 2022
Mississippi   X Sat April 23, 2022 Sat June 04, 2022 Tue June 07, 2022
Missouri   X Tue June 21, 2022 Mon Aug 01, 2022 Tue Aug 02, 2022
Montana   X Mon May 09, 2022 Mon June 06, 2022 Tue June 07, 2022
Nebraska X   Sun Apr 10, 2022 Tue May 10, 2022 Tue May 10, 2022
Nevada X   Sat May 28, 2022 Fri June 10, 2022 Tue June 14, 2022
New Hampshire   X Sun Aug 14, 2022 Mon Sept 12, 2022 Tue Sept 13, 2022
New Jersey X   Fri June 03, 2022 Sun June 05, 2022 Tue June 07, 2022
New Mexico X   Tue May 10, 2022 Sat June 04, 2022 Tue June 07, 2022
New York X   Sat Aug 13, 2022 Sun Aug 21, 2022 Tue Aug 23, 2022
North Carolina X   Thu Apr 28, 2022 Sat May 14, 2022 Tue May 17, 2022
North Dakota X X IPA: Thu May 05, 2022 EV: (1) Mon June 13, 2022 Tue June 14, 2022
Ohio X   Tue Apr 05, 2022 Mon May 02, 2022 Tue May 03, 2022
Oklahoma X   Thu June 23, 2022 Sat June 25, 2022 Tue June 28, 2022
Oregon (2)         Tue May 17, 2022
Pennsylvania   X (1) (1) Tue May 17, 2022
Rhode Island X   Wed Aug 24, 2022 Mon Sept 12, 2022 Tue Sept 13, 2022
South Carolina  X   Tue May 31, 2022 Mon June 10, 2022 Tue June 14, 2022
South Dakota   X Fri Apr 22, 2022 (1) Mon June 06, 2022 Tue June 07, 2022
Tennessee X   Fri July 15, 2022 Sat July 30, 2022 Thu Aug 04, 2022
Texas X   Mon Feb 14, 2022 Fri Feb 25, 2022 Tue Mar 01, 2022
Utah (2) X   Tue June 21, 2022 Fri June 24, 2022 Tue June 28, 2022
Vermont   X Sat June 25, 2022 Mon Aug 08, 2022  Tue Aug 09, 2022
Virginia X   Fri May 06, 2022 Fri June 18, 2022 Tue June 21, 2022
Virgin Islands X   Mon July 18, 2022 Mon Aug 01, 2022 Sat Aug 06, 2022
Washington (2) X   Fri July 15, 2022 Tue Aug 02, 2022 Tue Aug 02, 2022
West Virginia X   Wed Apr 27, 2022 Sat May 07, 2022 Tue May 10, 2022
Wisconsin   X (1) (1) Tue Aug 09, 2022
Wyoming   X Wed July 01, 2022 Mon Aug 15, 2022 Tue Aug 16, 2022

 

Notes:

(1) - Dates vary by locality.  Contact your Local Election Office for more information.
(2) - All mail election.  This state conducts elections entirely by mail.  All registered voters should automatically receive a mail-in ballot.

 

Definitions:

EARLY VOTING (EV): Early voting usually refers to voting that takes place at specially designated early voting sites.

IN-PERSON ABSENTEE VOTING (IPA):  In-person absentee voting usually refers to going through the absentee balloting process in-person at a local election office.

While these two terms are often used interchangeably to refer to any voting done in-person before election day - most states only use one or the other - some states use both and they're distinguished along the lines described above.