State of South Carolina Voting Requirements & Information

Statewide Voter Information

U.S. Domestic Voters

Upcoming Election Dates and Deadlines

Federal and State Elections

South Carolina State Primary Election held on Tue Jun 14, 2022

Type

Deadlines

New Voter Registration

  • In-Person, Received by Fri May 13, 2022 5:00pm EDT
  • Email, Online or Fax by Sun May 15, 2022 11:59pm EDT
  • Postmarked by Mon May 16, 2022

Absentee Ballot Request

Received by Fri Jun 3, 2022 5:00pm EDT

Absentee Ballot Return

Received by Tue Jun 14, 2022 7:00pm EDT

Early Voting

Tue May 31, 2022 8:30am EDT - In the Election Office by Fri Jun 10, 2022 5:00pm EDT
Early Voting will be closed on the weekend of June 4 - 5, 2022.

South Carolina Primary Runoff Election held on Tue Jun 28, 2022

Type

Deadlines

New Voter Registration

  • Online by Sun May 29, 2022 11:59pm EDT
  • Postmarked by Sun May 29, 2022
  • In-Person, Received by Sun May 29, 2022

Absentee Ballot Request

Received by Fri Jun 24, 2022 5:00pm EDT

Absentee Ballot Return

Received by Tue Jun 28, 2022 7:00pm EDT

In-Person Absentee Voting

Sun May 29, 2022 - In the Election Office by Mon Jun 27, 2022 5:00pm EDT

South Carolina State General Election held on Tue Nov 8, 2022

Type

Deadlines

New Voter Registration

  • In-Person, Received by Fri Oct 7, 2022
  • Online by Tue Oct 11, 2022 11:59pm EDT
  • Postmarked by Tue Oct 11, 2022

Absentee Ballot Request

Received by Fri Oct 28, 2022 5:00pm EDT

Absentee Ballot Return

Received by Tue Nov 8, 2022 7:00pm EST

Early Voting

Mon Oct 24, 2022 8:30am EDT - In the Election Office by Sat Nov 5, 2022 5:00pm EDT
Early voting will be closed on Sunday, October 30, 2022.


General Information