E2E VIV Research Project Team Members

A highlight of this project is the team. We will bring together a diverse set of people – election officials and computer scientists involved in election integrity - to work constructively together.

There are several sub-teams including a Technical Team, a Usability Team, a Testing Team, a Research Team, a Management Team and an Advisory Council.

Technical and Engineering Project Management: Galois

Lead Technical Project Manager: Dr. Joseph Kiniry, Galois

Technical Team:
Dr. Josh Benaloh
Senior Cryptographer, Microsoft Research
Dr. David R. Jefferson
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Dr. Doug W. Jones
Associate Professor, Department of Computer Science, University of Iowa
Dr. Aggelos Kiayias
Associate Professor, Computer Science and Engineering, University of Connecticut
Dr. Olivier Pereira
Professor, Institute of Information and Communication Technologies, Electronics and Applied Mathematics, Ecole Polytechnique de Louvain

Dr. Philip Stark
Associate Dean, Mathematical and Physical Sciences | Professor, Department of Statistics, University of California
Dr. Poorvi Vora
Associate Professor, Department of Computer Science, The George Washington University
Dr. David Wagner
Professor, EECS Computer Science Division, University of California Berkeley
Dr. Dan Wallach
Professor, Department of Computer Science, Rice University
Usability Team:
Keith Instone
User Experience Consultant

Morgan Miller
Usability Analyst, Experience Lab

Dr. Judith Murray
Research Consultant
Testing Team:
Dr. Duncan Buell
Professor of Computer Science and Engineering, University of South Carolina
Andrew Regenscheid
Mathematician, National Institute of Standards and Technology
Advisory Council:
Dr. Michael Clarkson
Assistant Professor of Computer Science, The George Washington University
Candice Hoke
Professor of Law, Cleveland State University
Dr. Ron Rivest
Vannevar Bush Professor of Computer Science, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Noel Runyan
Primary Consultant, Personal Data Systems
Dr. Peter Ryan
Professor in Applied Security, University of Luxembourg
Dr. Barbara Simons
Research Staff Member, IBM Research (retired)
John Wack
Voting Systems Standards, National Institute of Standards and Technology
Dr. Filip Zagorski
Assistant Professor of Computer Science, Wroclaw University of Technology
Local Election Officials:
Lori Augino
Director of Elections, Washington State, Secretary of State

Judd Choate
Director of Elections, Colorado, Secretary of State

Dana Debeauvoir
Travis County Clerk (Texas)
Mark Earley
Voting Systems Manager, Leon County (Florida)
Dean Logan
Los Angeles Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk (California)

Stuart Holmes
Election Information Systems Supervisor, Office of the Secretary of State (Washington)
Dr. Lois H. Neuman
Chair, Board of Supervisors of Elections, City of Rockville (Maryland)
Roman Montoya
Deputy County Clerk, Bernalillo County (New Mexico)
Tammy Patrick
Senior Advisor to the Democracy Project, Bipartisan Policy Center and Former Federal Compliance Officer Maricopa County (Arizona)

U.S. Vote Foundation Support Team
Susan Dzieduszycka-Suinat
President and CEO
Paul McGuire
Legal Counsel and Secretary of the Board
Richard Vogt
Treasurer and Chief Financial Officer
Capstone Project Team
Carnegie Mellon University, Heinz College
School of Information Systems & Management
Master of Information Systems Management and
Master of Science in Information Security Policy and Management
A selected CMU Project Team of 4-6 graduate students joined the E2E VIV Project from January to May 2014. The Capstone Project experience is the culmination of the CMU/Heinz graduate program. U.S. News & World Report ranks Carnegie Mellon University’s Heinz College as #1 in the nation in Information Technology Management.