State of New York Voting Requirements & Information

Statewide Voter Information

U.S. Domestic Voters

Upcoming Election Dates and Deadlines

Federal and State Elections

New York State Primary Election (Gubernatorial and State Assembly) held on Tue Jun 28, 2022

Type

Deadlines

New Voter Registration

  • Postmarked by Fri Jun 3, 2022
  • In-Person, Received by Fri Jun 3, 2022
  • Post received by Wed Jun 8, 2022

Absentee Ballot Request

  • Post received by Mon Jun 13, 2022
  • Email, Online or Fax by Mon Jun 13, 2022
  • In-Person, Received by Mon Jun 27, 2022

Absentee Ballot Return

  • Postmarked by Tue Jun 28, 2022
  • In-Person, Received by Tue Jun 28, 2022 9:00pm EDT
  • Post received by Tue Jul 5, 2022

Early Voting

Sat Jun 18, 2022 - Sun Jun 26, 2022
Early Voting dates and locations vary by county, contact your Local Election Office for more information. Election Day voting takes place from 6am to 9pm.

New York State Primary Election (State and Congressional) held on Tue Aug 23, 2022

Type

Deadlines

New Voter Registration

  • Postmarked by Fri Jul 29, 2022
  • In-Person, Received by Fri Jul 29, 2022
  • Post received by Wed Aug 3, 2022

Absentee Ballot Request

  • Post received by Mon Aug 8, 2022
  • Email, Online or Fax by Mon Aug 8, 2022
  • In-Person, Received by Mon Aug 22, 2022

Absentee Ballot Return

  • Postmarked by Tue Aug 23, 2022
  • In-Person, Received by Tue Aug 23, 2022 9:00pm EDT
  • Post received by Tue Aug 30, 2022

Early Voting

Sat Aug 13, 2022 - Sun Aug 21, 2022
Early Voting dates and locations vary by county, contact your Local Election Office for more information. Election Day voting takes place from 6am to 9pm.

New York State General Election held on Tue Nov 8, 2022

Type

Deadlines

New Voter Registration

  • Postmarked by Fri Oct 14, 2022
  • In-Person, Received by Fri Oct 14, 2022
  • Post received by Wed Oct 19, 2022

Absentee Ballot Request

  • Postmarked by Mon Oct 24, 2022
  • Email, Online or Fax by Mon Oct 24, 2022
  • In-Person, Received by Mon Nov 7, 2022

Absentee Ballot Return

  • Postmarked by Tue Nov 8, 2022
  • In-Person, Received by Tue Nov 8, 2022 9:00pm EST
  • Post received by Tue Nov 15, 2022

Early Voting

Dates to be Announced - Dates to be Announced
Early Voting dates and locations vary by county, contact your Local Election Office for more information. Election Day voting takes place from 6am to 9pm.


General Information