State of Illinois Voting Requirements & Information

Statewide Voter Information

U.S. Domestic Voters

Upcoming Election Dates and Deadlines

Federal and State Elections

Illinois State Primary Election held on Tue Jun 28, 2022

Type

Deadlines

New Voter Registration

  • Tue May 31, 2022
  • Online by Sun Jun 12, 2022
  • Grace Period through Tue Jun 28, 2022

Absentee Ballot Request

  • Online by Thu Jun 23, 2022
  • Post received by Thu Jun 23, 2022
  • In-Person Request by Mon Jun 27, 2022

Absentee Ballot Return

  • Postmarked by Tue Jun 28, 2022
  • Post received by Tue Jul 12, 2022

Early Voting

  • At Election Authority Office as of Thu May 19, 2022
  • At Permanent Polling Places as of Mon Jun 13, 2022
- Early Voting ends Mon Jun 27, 2022

Illinois State General Election held on Tue Nov 8, 2022

Type

Deadlines

New Voter Registration

  • Wed Oct 12, 2022
  • Grace Period starts Thu Oct 13, 2022
  • Online by Sun Oct 23, 2022
  • Grace Period through Tue Nov 8, 2022

Absentee Ballot Request

  • Thu Nov 3, 2022
  • Online by Thu Nov 3, 2022
  • Postmarked by Thu Nov 3, 2022
  • Post received by Thu Nov 3, 2022
  • In-Person Request by Mon Nov 7, 2022

Absentee Ballot Return

  • Tue Nov 8, 2022
  • Postmarked by Tue Nov 8, 2022
  • Post received by Tue Nov 22, 2022

Early Voting

  • At Election Authority Office as of Thu Sep 29, 2022
  • At Permanent Polling Places as of Mon Oct 24, 2022
- Early Voting ends Mon Nov 7, 2022


General Information