State of Alabama Voting Requirements & Information

Statewide Voter Information

U.S. Domestic Voters

Upcoming Election Dates and Deadlines

Federal and State Elections

Alabama State Primary Election held on Tue May 24, 2022

Type

Deadlines

New Voter Registration

  • Online by Mon May 9, 2022
  • Post received by Mon May 9, 2022
  • Hand Delivered by Mon May 9, 2022

Absentee Ballot Request

  • Post received by Tue May 17, 2022
  • In-Person, Received by Thu May 19, 2022

Absentee Ballot Return

  • Postmarked by Mon May 23, 2022
  • In-Person, Received by Mon May 23, 2022
  • Post received by Tue May 24, 2022 12:00pm CDT

Alabama State Primary Runoff Election held on Tue Jun 21, 2022

Type

Deadlines

New Voter Registration

  • Online by Mon Jun 6, 2022
  • Post received by Mon Jun 6, 2022
  • Hand Delivered by Mon Jun 6, 2022

Absentee Ballot Request

  • Post received by Tue Jun 14, 2022
  • In-Person, Received by Thu Jun 16, 2022

Absentee Ballot Return

  • Postmarked by Mon Jun 20, 2022
  • In-Person, Received by Mon Jun 20, 2022
  • Post received by Tue Jun 21, 2022 12:00pm CDT

Alabama State General Election held on Tue Nov 8, 2022

Type

Deadlines

New Voter Registration

  • Online by Mon Oct 24, 2022
  • Post received by Mon Oct 24, 2022
  • Hand Delivered by Mon Oct 24, 2022

Absentee Ballot Request

  • Post received by Tue Nov 1, 2022
  • In-Person, Received by Thu Nov 3, 2022

Absentee Ballot Return

  • Postmarked by Mon Nov 7, 2022
  • In-Person, Received by Mon Nov 7, 2022
  • Post received by Tue Nov 8, 2022 12:00pm CST

Local Elections

Alabama Regular Municipal Elections held on Tue Aug 23, 2022

Type

Deadlines

New Voter Registration

  • Online by Mon Aug 8, 2022
  • Post received by Mon Aug 8, 2022
  • Hand Delivered by Mon Aug 8, 2022

Absentee Ballot Request

  • Post received by Tue Aug 16, 2022
  • In-Person, Received by Thu Aug 18, 2022

Absentee Ballot Return

  • Postmarked by Mon Aug 22, 2022
  • In-Person, Received by Mon Aug 22, 2022
  • Post received by Tue Aug 23, 2022 12:00pm CDT
Deadlines are for all elections in Alabama on August 23, 2022. Contact Local Election Office for more information about local elections.


General Information